Structure 2019-08-12T15:00:24+00:00

The IoT Alliance Australia (IoTAA) is the peak body representing IoT in Australia with members from a wide cross-section of IoT service providers, government, research agencies and consumer groups.

IoTAA was initially created as an IoT Think Tank in May 2015 as part of Communications Alliance. It became a separate not-for-profit entity in July 2016, hosted by UTS.

IoTAA’s Structure

IoTAA is governed by a Board led by Gavin Smith, President and Chairman of Bosch Australia, and advised by an Executive Council led by the Chair, Mr Piers Hogarth-Scott, National Leader, Internet of Things, KPMG . Working under the guidance of the Executive Council are twelve IoTAA workstreams.

IoTAA Executive Council Members at January 2019

The Executive Council (EC) of the IoT Alliance Australia is the senior stakeholder advisory committee of the IoTAA

  • AARNet
  • Australian Communications and Media Authority (ACMA)
  • Australian Communications Consumer Action Network (ACCAN)
  • Australian Competition and Consumer Commission (ACCC)
  • Australian Information Industry Association (AIIA)
  • Australian Mobile Telecommunications Association (AMTA)
  • Blue IoT
  • Commonwealth Bank of Australia
  • Communications Alliance
  • Deakin University
  • Deloitte
  • Department of Communications and the Arts (DoCA)
  • IBM
  • Internet Australia
  • University of Technology Sydney
  • KPMG
  • nbn
  • NNNCo
  • Office of the Australian Information Commissioner (OAIC)/Privacy Commissioner
  • Optus
  • Quantify Technology
  • RMIT
  • Schneider Electric
  • Software AG
  • Startup Bootcamp
  • Swinburne University of Technology
  • Tata Communications Transformation Services Pty Ltd (TCTS) Australia
  • Telstra
  • Thinxtra
  • Urban Institute
  • Victorian Automobile Chanber of Commerce (VACC)
  • Vodafone Hutchison Australia

IoTAA acknowledges the support of two key executive council members:

Communications Alliance

       Founding organisation, principal host until June 2016 and convenor

       Chair and host of IoTAA Executive Council


       Principal Host of the IoT Alliance (from June 2016)

       Host of the IoTAA executive